A bit of whimsy

Creative Ways to Share Your DID Diagnosis*

 

 

Sing it like an old Statler Brothers tune: “Counting parts inside my wall, that don’t bother me at all. Playing solitare till dawn, with a system of 31 . . .”

Open it like a birthday gift: “Oh wow, DID! Just what I always wanted–how did you know?”

Grunt it out in military fashion: “I don’t know but I’ve been told, one of my parts is 3 years old. I don’t know but it’s been said, not everyone hears voices inside their head!”

Hum along to it like the theme from an old family sitcom: “Here’s the story of a lovely lady, who was bringing up 100 lovely girls . . .”

Sing it like an old hymn, “When we ALL get to heaven . . .”

Play it like a game of Monopoly: “Hey, I’ll trade you Boardwalk for your Get-Out-of-Therapy-Before-You’re 100-card!”

Act it out like a skit for smart-alec multiples:

Therapist: “You’re not crazy or losing your marbles–you have DID.”

Patient: “I know you are but what am I?”

Therapist: “Who’s talking, please?”

Patient: “That’s for me to know and you to find out!”

(*Please take this in the lighthearted manner in which it was written.)

freeface.gif

 


2 thoughts on “A bit of whimsy”

Leave a Reply

