It Shouldn’t Be This Hard

Yesterday morning my son was the only one up when I stumbled into the kitchen in dire need of coffee. He’s not a coffee drinker, so I decided to make some myself. Upon awakening each morning, I feel as though I’ve been run over by a semi, or as if I’m coming down from a bad trip. (If you grew up in the 60’s you doubtless know what that feels like!)

Now, there seems to be some ongoing, unspoken controversy between me and Mr. Coffee Maker. He can’t stand me. I don’t know why. I have nothing against him. But for whatever reason, when he sees me coming he turns all snarky and refuses to do his job. I should know better by now than to have any kind of contact with him, period. But hope springs eternal, as the old saying goes.

Faking self-confidence, I went through the whole coffee making procedure. There’s no way this can go wrong, I thought a bit smugly. I’m being so careful! Having finished my coffee making chore, I went back to my room to check my e-mail while Mr. Coffee Maker did his thing. A few minutes later my son knocked on my door and said, “Mom, I think there’s something wrong with the coffee maker.” I asked why, and he said, “Well there’s a lake of water on the counter, and coffee grounds everywhere.”

That’s what I get for being smug! When I went back to the kitchen to check the damage, I was not surprised to see exactly what my son had described. There really was a lake of water and grounds covering the counter. Stubbornly determined to have my morning coffee, grounds or no grounds, I lifted the pot and saw that the lid was coated with thick clumps of them. Well I didn’t survive this long in life just to be undone by rebel coffee grounds! I poured myself a cup as if there was nothing in the world wrong with my coffee-making skills. By now I’m used to nasty little grounds getting stuck in my teeth. I drank the stuff anyway, pretending not to notice.

Later when my daughter-in-law saw the pathetic remains of my early morning efforts, she said, “What in the world did you do?” I could only shrug mutely, knowing there were no words to explain my ineptness. Some things simply defy description.

art-0496.gif

2 thoughts on “It Shouldn’t Be This Hard”

  1. You know… you are right… it should not be that hard. What could have happened??? Was there an old used coffee filter still left in the machine??? Geesh… that is a hard one to discern.
    I have screwed up my coffee by somehow making a hole in the filter, what I did was… I strained my coffee with a small strainer lined with a coffee filter. That did the job of removing all the grounds, but… my coffee was cold by then… so… I used another machine to warm it back up…the incredible microwave. I hope your grounds stay away from your cup in the future.
    MeMe

Leave a Reply

