It’s Raining, It’s Pouring . . .

Yahoo! I just slipped outside for a smoke and got rained on. What an incredibly wonderful sensation after so many months of sunny weather. Just a few days ago we had a thunder storm, complete with hail, and that was exciting. But it ended too soon and then it was back to the sunshine. Constant sunshine reminds me of a certain type of person (usually female) who’s so perky you just want to smack her. Or maybe that’s just me.

 

I wrote an earlier post (in July, I think) about summertime and why it’s so hard for me. Right now as rain patters in the background, it seems as if fall is really here to stay. I can smell the rain. I can smell too (in my imagination) wood fires and hot chocolate. I remember, and long for, the coziness of sleeping under an electric blanket and reading my favorite novels for the umpteenth time while sipping hot tea. There is something so soothing to me in the sound of rain pattering against my window as I putter around the house, snug in a thick sweater and slippers.

This is the time of year when all my parts yearn to be creative, and it’s not uncommon to have five or more projects going at once. I love being able to jump from one creative endeavour to another, even when it gets confusing. Today is a Winnie-the-Pooh blustery day, and the drought of my soul is nourished by the rain.

little-bird-animation.gif

2 thoughts on “It’s Raining, It’s Pouring . . .”

  1. Guess what??? That is also good bread making weather too. I am not fond of autumn or winter. Where I live… there is tooooo much rain and it means… short days and long nights, being cold, not feeling the precious sun on my face or even seeing the sun. Lots of darkness and gloomy days and very dark nights and blah blah blah. However, I do like the color of the trees in fall, really cool.
    MeMe

  2. we had rain most of yesterday also, but we were out and it looked like we were going to get drenched even with john dropping us off at the door!!! but by the time got to the store it had slowed down dramatically. when we left all i wanted was to get back home and have a cup of coffee!!

    take care always and i will tip my cup to you tomorrow morning

    keepers

Leave a Reply

