One of Those Days

I fell asleep to Sybil last night, which may explain the multitude of weird dreams I suffered from. When I awoke it was 9:30. I don’t remember the last time I was able to sleep in that late. Normally I awaken around 6 and can’t fall back asleep.

So this morning I did my usual stumble out of bed and found my son and granddaughter in the living room. My son took one look at me and pointed and started laughing. Now, this was disconcerting to say the least. I know that first thing in the morning I look like something the cat dragged in, but how rude. At my puzzled expression (and when he was able to stop laughing) he said, “You’ve got a bunch of toilet paper hanging out of your pjs!” Oh. Of course, it’s going to be one of those days.

In the kitchen I felt like Old Mother Hubbard, for there was not a bit of coffee to be found. Now I sit in a daze at the keyboard, waiting for my head to clear all on its own with no assistance from caffeine. This could explain why this post is pretty much all about nothing. I don’t know. I can’t think straight at the moment. Maybe some tea is in order. Even I can manage a tea bag first thing in the morning!

I’m back now, having tracked down some Earl Grey tea. I don’t think it’s going to do the job, though. While in the kitchen I asked my daughter-in-law if she wanted some bacon. She said yes, so I slapped a few pieces in the big frying pan, covered it with a lid, and sat down in the living room to wait for it to cook. (If I go back to my room when I have food cooking, I have a tendency to forget all about it.) A few minutes later she went into the kitchen for something, and when she came back into the LR said, “I thought you were cooking bacon.” I told her I was, and she informed me that the burner wasn’t turned on. Something tells me this is going to be one of those days when my burners aren’t all turned on, if you get my drift. Ah well, what can you do but stumble through it as best you can?

th_freebreakfast.gif

3 thoughts on “One of Those Days”

  1. i think what we figured out, what to use when there are no coffe filters early in the morning but true disaster hits when there is no coffee! in other words, keepers can empathize with how you felt this morning. we have always had the bad habit of one keepers puting on food to cook and another coming out, totally unaware food is cooking, hence one disaster after another! when keepers were first diagnosed MPD back in the 80’s movies like Sybil were all we had to let us know there were other people like us. Thank God for the internet and our blogging friends like you!!!

    peace and blessings

    Keepers

  2. Hi…. found your journal through Keepers or The People Behind My Eyes. I can really relate to having to stay in the kitchen or nearby (but for us, it really needs to be in direct site and constant reminder), so that things don’t end up burned and over-cooked. We can’t go to our room either, and lots of times we completely forget about it if we go into the living room. And many times, I will think… this time I’ll remember there is something in the oven, on the stove, in the microwave…and so I go to my room… and I continue to be reminded that I don’t remember. Actually I will remember at some point… but it is after some insider/s have been out and they have no clue about it, and then suddenly I’m out front again and often confused about the time and panicking about having burnt something. I don’t use the oven or stove much, but needless to say, I have to force myself to stay in the kitchen. But even that can be hard, because it generally takes a lot out of me to cook or bake, and so once the preparations are done, we want to go back and hide and take a break and rest. Anyway… just as I related to you, I’m guessing you can relate to me.

    I hope your day gets a bit easier and not so rough around the edges.

    Julie

  3. do you know how many times i’ve forgotten to turn the stove on and left chicken sitting in a pan for an hour uncooked? there are times when I simply leave the kitchen alone. heck there was once when i burned everything i touched. i gave up cooking for several days because it was getting dangerous for me and…others. LOL. I ate popcorn for I dont know how long until I was able to get my head on right and cook again. I figured I had to do that really quickly because that corn was tearing me up if you know what I mean.

    later tater,
    Austin

Leave a Reply

