Whatcha Reading?

Maybe a more appropriate title would be What’s On Your Bookshelf? I’m most likely not the only one out there who has a ton of books, and seldom reads. (I can’t believe I can even make that statement about myself. I still marvel at the fact that I don’t read any more, except for blogs.)

The choices we make every day say a lot about who we are. The foods we eat, the shows we watch, and yes, the books we read. I thought it would be interesting to name some of the titles gathering dust on my shelves. If I read nothing but Science Fiction, that says one thing about me. I’m not sure what, but it says something. If I thrive on Romance Novels (ugh!), that would say something entirely different. What do you think the books on my shelf say about me? And while you’re at it, what’s on your bookshelves?

Here’s a sample of my book collection:

 

teennovels.jpg

My camera’s on its last legs, so I couldn’t get a better quality photo. These are some of the vintage teen novels I collect (most of them written in the 50’s and 60’s):

  • The New Lucinda (Grace Gelvin Kisinger)
  • Practically Seventeen (Rosamond du Jardin)
  • Almost April (Zoa Sherburne)
  • Waiting for Marcy (Rosamond du Jardin)
  • Going Steady (Anne Emery)
  • Fifteen (Beverly Cleary)
  • Senior Year (Anne Emery)
  • The Seagulls Woke Me (Mary Stolz)

(I know, I know, these kinds of novels depict a type of  innocent simplicity which didn’t exist for most of us . . . which is why I fell in love with them back in my grade school days. Even if they didn’t deal with any issues more world changing than waiting for the coolest guy in school to call, these are all well-written books.)

mybooks.jpg

These are some of my writer’s books, plus:

  • Anna Karenina (Leo Tolstoy)
  • The Scapegoat (Daphne Du Maurier)
  • Second Nature (Alice Hoffman)
  • The House of Mirth (Edith Wharton)

Other books include:

  • 7th Heaven (Alice Hoffman, one of my all time favorites)
  • Sybil (of course)
  • A Raisin in the Sun (Lorraine Hansberry)
  • The Bluest Eye (Toni Morrison)
  • To Kill A Mockingbird (Harper Lee)
  • Johnny Tremain (Esther Forbes)
  • A Cold Day in Paradise (Steve Hamilton)
  • Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte)
  • Selected Poems (TS Eliot)
  • The Ivy Tree (Mary Stewart)
  • Raising Demons (Shirley Jackson . . . this is about kids, not real demons!)
  • Crime & Punishment (Fyodor Dostoyevsky)
  • Most of Charles Dickens
  • All of Anne Tyler
  • The Awakening (Kate Chopin)

Whew.  That’s just a sampling.  I’ve had to box up most of my books  so I have room to actually live and move around in my room.

Once again, what’s on your shelves? (I’ve shown you mine!)

 

One thought on “Whatcha Reading?”

  1. i step away from my computer for just a few days…and im so behind on every ones post!!! eh heh heh 😀
    my books…
    various books on faith living and our covenant with God
    various medical books
    ‘splinter cell’ based on the video game
    ‘the dance of anger’
    ‘the dance of connection’ both by harriet lerner
    a big book on survival in any setting

Leave a Reply

