We Gather Together . . .

th1header.jpg

 

I realize that not everyone who reads my blog celebrates Thanksgiving. Still, it seems only fitting for everyone in my system to take a little respite from daily struggles, and contemplate the good things with which we’ve been blessed this past year. These include:

 

  • Telling the people I live with about my DID. Although it may not have turned out as I would have wanted it to, there is the freedom to be able to mention my parts when necessary.

  • I’ve gained a new granddaughter this year. Babies are always a welcome addition to the family, especially my inner family who dotes on them.

  • I started this blog last June, and have met some really supportive, wise and funny friends. It’s wonderful to write from the heart and get feedback from someone who was helped by my words. It’s heartwarming to be able to offer emotional support when one of my cyber friends is hitting rock bottom. Before June I didn’t have a clue that any of you existed, or that it would be possible to find “like-minded” friends who share my daily struggles dealing with the aftermath of child abuse.

  • I’ve had some personal losses this year and have found, once again, that I am stronger than I think. One of the results of enduring the hell of abuse is that our characters are strengthened—-but I know not everyone survives it with their hearts intact. I’m so thankful that I’m not lugging around a spirit of bitterness along with everything else which makes up my emotional baggage. (I don’t mean to imply that I’m glad for the abuse. Since it did happen though, I’m grateful to discover I have been enabled to emerge a true survivor: an individual who not only made it through but made it through with dignity and heart.)

  • Though I have some health concerns, I’m not totally incapacitated. For someone with DID, Chronic Fatigue, and various aches and pains, I manage to live a pretty full life. I’ve the luxury of taking to my bed when needed; there is no job to go to, no boss to answer to. When I think of all those years I worked while raising my kids, I appreciate this luxury all the more.

  • I’ve learned (am learning) this year to not sweat the spiritual stuff. This is a difficult area of life for me to deal with, but I’ve reached the point of (usually) being able to catch myself right in the act of pressuring myself to act a certain way. A way which, I think, will win me heavenly approval. A way in which I will appear “normal,” and thus earn spiritual brownie points. I’m not sure how or when I got it into my noggin that one must be “normal” in order to earn/win/obtain heaven’s approval. What if who and what I am right now is exactly who and what I’m supposed to be? Hmmm, there’s food for thought!

  • These are the year’s highlights. I’m sure I’m leaving out lots, and I’m sure that most of you understand the problem with remembering things even from one day to the next! Oh, I’ve so much to be thankful for, and for this I do give thanks.

(For more beautiful graphics like the one above, please click here.)


 

 

2 thoughts on “We Gather Together . . .”

  1. Hi BD

    We hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving Day! We hope your next year is as successful and rewarding as this past one has been, as you reflected on in your post. We ourselves have had to focus on the good instead of the not so good, sometimes that is a matter of overcoming the “old” ways of handling things and focusing on our new paths and goals.

    best wishes to you and many gentle hugs

    keepers

Leave a Reply

