I Got ‘er Done!

So this is what I ended up doing today: I bought the computer I’ve been denying myself. It’ll be delivered on Tuesday. I don’t want to give false impressions—my guilt was throbbing through my head like a pounding headache; I simply decided to ignore it. Do I regret my decision? Nope. Not now. And most certainly not when my new sleek computer with its flat screen is here on my desk, a constant reminder of my incredible impertinence.

Every day when I sit down to blog, I imagine myself cringing just a bit waiting for the other shoe to drop. But you know what? I bet there won’t be any dropping shoes. I bet the earth won’t quit revolving, and I won’t come down with a horrible terminal illness because of my audacity at buying myself something. I just bet my greatest fears will all go slinking off with their tails between their legs in the manner of most big mouthed cowards.

So that’s what I did today. One small step for mankind, perhaps. But you know what they say about a journey of 1,000  miles: it begins with a small step. And somewhere deep within my system, someone is smiling big time.

tooshort0.jpg

(This has nothing to do with this post, I just like it.)

3 thoughts on “I Got ‘er Done!”

  1. It’d strange isn’t it, as survivors we have such guilt at buying stuff for ourselves. For us it is about feeling we don’t deserve anything new or nice. I will gladly spend ££ on others though. Anyhow enjoy the new computer 🙂 Have a good Sunday

  2. Give yourself a big pat on the back.

    I agree with the previous commenter that it is so hard to be nice to ourselves.

    The guilt we carry around can be overwhelming. And when we do finally do something nice for ourselves, we beat ourselves up over it too.

    But definitely give yourself that pat on the back. Enjoy your new computer!

  3. we are so happy for you!!!!!! you deserve it, the pat on the back, the guilt free new computer and the joy of knowing the world will keep on going, even if you did do a nice thing for yourself!!!

    keepers

Leave a Reply

